EMDI
|
Font size:        

Project

Context and strategic dimension

The context for the project centres on the various strategic interests operating at different scales with the (English) Channel as their focal point of reference. These interests demonstrate an increasing need to co-operate far beyond the eligible area of the current Franco-British INTERREG IIIA programme.

During the current period of increasing European integration, this North-West part of the continent is re-configuring itself in relation to previously accepted imperatives, as well as adding in new ones brought about by societal change.

3 strategic dimensions.


The English Channel is the busiest maritime thoroughfare in the world

  • More than 600 vessel movements both through and across the Straits (of Dover) every day.
  • It is one of Europe's gateways to the world, and North-South an important communications route between Britain and Continental Europe.
  • One of the prime considerations of this strategic dimension is safety, repeatedly evidenced by recent accidents at sea.
  • The strategic interests provided by economic development are less immediately obvious, but nonetheless they represent the backcloth for the future growth of regions bordering the Channel.
  • Maritime traffic will continue to increase, so what powers of imagination, what capabilities, will be required of English and French stakeholders alike to exploit this situation?
navire


Important exchange link between Britain and the continent. This provides the second strategic dimension.

  • Recent decades have witnessed very important increases in volume of traffic, frequency of service and number of connecting routes, marking a qualitative jump with what existed previously.
  • All modes of transport included, the number of people moving between the continent and the British Isles is estimated at 100 million. Just counting ferry and rail crossings, one still arrives at a total of 45 million passengers.
  • To this considerable movement of people must be added an equally large flow of goods.
  • To the organisation of such traffic should be added the key issue of economic spin-off: how does one ensure that the adjacent regions benefit from a "cross-roads" rather than "corridor effect" where people and goods simply pass through without contributing to local development?


A zone of multiple interacting and overlapping activities.

  • The busy, indeed congested, use of the Channel provides a prime and central motivation for adopting a combined approach.
  • The safety of maritime transport must be a shared responsibility. Although this represents a particularly visible and pressing issue, it is far from being the only one. The Channel area is a shared space, a small Anglo-French internal sea.
  • Coastal areas have always been areas where pressure and competition between the different activities are intense. It is particularly the case on both opposite shores of this internal sea, which also have some issues in common.
  • Environmental issues, from protection of seashores to the preservation of natural sites and fauna, need to be combined with increasing urbanisation, tourism, fishing activities and marinas, economic and port uses, new projects for major economic development, above all Port 2000 in Le Havre and the project for a new port in Southampton.
  • This is not a comprehensive list but it illustrates the overlapping uses of and around what has become the Pond, the Anglo French internal sea.

EMDI
|
Taille des caractères:        

Le programme EMDI

Contexte

Le contexte du projet est celui d'enjeux d'échelles et d'ordre différents qui se concentrent autour d'un point focal : la Mer de la Manche. Ces enjeux mettent en évidence la nécessité d'une coopération accrue, bien au delà de la zone éligible de l'actuel programme INTERREG IIIA franco-britannique.

A l'heure de l'intégration européenne croissante, cette partie Nord-Ouest de l'Europe reformule de grands enjeux qui existaient antérieurement et en ajoutent de nouveaux dus à l'évolution de nos sociétés.

3 dimensions stratégiques


La Manche est la mer la plus fréquentée du globe

  • Plus de 600 mouvements de bateaux journaliers en tous sens sont comptabilisés dans le Détroit.
  • C'est une des portes maritimes de l'Europe sur le Monde, et c'est aussi, dans l'axe nord-sud, un espace d'échanges très important entre les îles britanniques et le continent.
  • L'une des toutes premières préoccupations dans cette dimension stratégique est maintenant la sécurité, les derniers accidents sont là pour le rappeler avec insistance.
  • L'enjeu de développement économique est moins immédiatement spectaculaire, mais il représente la toile de fond de l'avenir des régions qui bordent la Manche.
  • Le trafic maritime va continuer de s'accroître, quelle imagination, quelles capacités, les acteurs français et anglais vont-ils alors pouvoir mettre en oeuvre pour en être partie prenantes, et bénéficiaires ?
navire


Echanges élevés entre les îles britanniques et le continent. C'est la seconde dimension stratégique

  • Les dernières décennies ont porté ces échanges à des niveaux, des fréquences et un nombre de points de liaisons très élevés qui marquent un saut qualitatif avec la situation antérieure.
  • Tous modes confondus, le nombre de personnes se déplaçant entre le continent et les îles britanniques est estimé à 100 millions d'individus. Si l'on s'en tient aux passages sur et sous la mer entre la France, l'Angleterre et l'Irlande, on obtient encore le chiffre global de 45 millions de passagers.
  • À ce flux considérable de personnes, il faut ajouter le flux tout aussi considérable de marchandises.
  • Et à l'organisation d'un tel trafic, s'ajoute la question essentielle des retombées économiques : comment faire pour que ces espaces bénéficient d'effets carrefour et ne subissent pas seulement des effets de tunnel, où les flux traversent sans contribuer au développement local ?


Lieu de multiples activités qui se chevauchent, se superposent

  • L'occupation, voire l'encombrement de la Manche est une première raison qui incite fortement à conjuguer les efforts.
  • La sécurité du transport maritime ne peut être qu'un enjeu partagé. Si elle s'avère pressante et particulièrement visible, elle est loin d'être la seule. C'est un espace à partager, une petite mer intérieure franco-anglaise.
  • Les littoraux sont toujours des espaces où les pressions et la concurrence entre différentes activités sont intenses. Elles le sont particulièrement, et avec des problèmes communs, sur les deux rives opposées de cette mer intérieure.
  • Les questions environnementales, de la protection du trait de côte à la préservation des sites naturels et de leur faune doivent être combinées avec l'urbanisation toujours croissante, la fréquentation touristique, l'activité de plaisance et la pêche, des usages économiques et portuaires, de nouveaux projets de développement économique majeurs, notamment Port 2000 au Havre et le projet de nouveau port de Southampton.
  • La liste n'est pas close mais montre l'imbrication des usages sur et autour de ce qui est devenue The Pond, la petite mer intérieure franco-anglaise.