EMDI
|
Font size:        
Maritime safety and intermodality working group

Links with the strategic framework

On the one hand, maritime safety is a major preoccupation in this area on account of the heavy volumes of traffic and its diversity: freight shipping, cross-Channel ferries, pleasure craft and commercial fishing vessels.

On the other hand, an enhancement of the attractiveness and competitiveness of communications is a vital condition for developing co-operation between maritime regions: improved intermodal transfer possibilities (e.g. ferry train) can make a valuable contribution.

Links will be established with the NWE INTERREG IIIB FINESSE project dealing with freight intermodality and exchange on seas and straits in Europe. SEEDA, Lead partner of the FINESSE project, will participate in the Maritime Transport working group and be in a position to ensure complementarities and synergies between both projects.

Actions

  • Production of a Maritime Traffic Map to be updated annually showing the superimposition of the specific approaches habitually considered in isolation, but clearly operating jointly over the whole Channel area: intercontinental and European freight traffic, cross-Channel traffic, fisheries traffic and sailing. This alone represents a key aspect of safety.

  • Definition and testing of an Intermodal Links Tool for identifying/ evaluating the most efficient intermodal links for transport operators and regional transports authorities, with consultation via Internet.

  • Training-action seminar: Preventive Plan. To lay down the foundations of a preventive plan based not on surveillance, but on the identification of sector-specific approaches to various types of traffic and on a global approach to means of prevention.

  • Tests for the improvement of Intermodal Links by organising concerted actions through operators, in order to increase the attractiveness of these cross-Channel links.
Maritime safety and intermodality working group

EMDI
|
Taille des caractères:        
groupe de travail sécurité maritime

Lien avec le cadre stratégique

D'une part, la sécurité maritime constitue une préoccupation forte de cet espace, en raison de l'importance du trafic et de sa diversité : transport de marchandises, liaisons transmanche par ferry, plaisance, pêche.

D'autre part, l'amélioration de l'attractivité et de la compétitivité des communications est une condition essentielle du développement de la coopération entre les régions maritimes : l'amélioration des possibilités de transfert intermodal (par exemple, ferry-train) peut y contribuer fortement.

Des liens seront établis avec le projet FINESSE, développé dans le cadre du programme INTERREG ENO, qui traite de l'intermodalité pour le trafic de marchandises et des échanges sur les mers et détroits d'Europe. SEEDA, chef de file du projet FINESSE, participera au groupe de travail Transports Maritimes, et assurera les complémentarités et les synergies entre les deux projets.

Actions

  • Réalisation d'un document cartographique actualisable sur une base annuelle, montrant la superposition de logiques sectorielles que l'on considère habituellement de manière isolée, mais qui fonctionnent cependant de façon interdépendante sur toute la zone de la Manche : trafic de fret intercontinental et européen, liaisons transmanche, trafic lié à la pêche et à la plaisance. C'est en soi un point-clé de la question de la sécurité.

  • Définition et expérimentation d'un Outil d'aide à l'intermodalité, consultable sur internet, permettant d'identifier et d'évaluer les liaisons intermodales les plus efficaces pour les opérateurs de transport et les autorités régionales de transport.

  • Séminaire de formation-action : Plan de prévention. Poser les bases d'un plan de prévention non plus fondé sur la surveillance, mais sur l'identification des approches sectorielles des différents types de trafic, et sur une approche globale des moyens de prévention.

  • Essais d'amélioration des liaisons intermodales, par l'organisation d'actions concertées entre opérateurs, afin d'accroître l'attractivité de ces liens transmanche.
groupe de travail sécurité maritime